Welcome, Guest
Username: Password: Remember me
General topics

TOPIC: User Manual for beginners

User Manual for beginners 3 years 1 month ago #1761

Hi,

I read the documentation available online and I found quite a big help on how to run an Harmonie experiment at ECMWF. However, I would like to know if there is a doc (for absolute beginners like me) explaining how are the output files organized and a short description of the parameters included in each file?

Thanks
Isabel

User Manual for beginners 3 years 1 month ago #1764

Dear Isabel,

Sadly it is not available yet.
During last System Working Week in Copenhagen this was one of the topics. We plan a pdf, online tutorial or video tutorial for beginners.
Meanwhile, feel free to ask any of us about your doubts.

Regards,

Daniel

User Manual for beginners 3 years 3 weeks ago #1767

Dear Daniel,
I wanted to conduct a number of observing system experiments of a storm event between 06-02-2014 and 11-02-2014 and assess the 24 h forecasts with 3h assimilation cycles. I manage to run the experiment considering conventional observations. Output files were stored at cca in $SCRATCH. Now the doubts:
1)It seems that only the complete files for 10-02-2014 to 11-02-2014 were kept.Files are stored in /scratch/ms/pt/ptq/hm_home/IberiaScatt_EXP0/archive and divided into 2014 and extract dirs.
The 2014 dir, seems to have all the files for 10-02 and 11-02 but not for the previous days. extract dir seems to have only information about the observations used throughout the run. Is that so?
2)in 2014 dir when I do grib_ls to /02/10/09/fc2014021009+000grib_sfx (surface fields?) for example I find 10u and 10v but I don't find the mslp field.
3) What is the logic behind the file names (only the grib files):
anyyyymmdd09+000grib = analysis?
bayyyymmdd09+000grib ?
fcyyyymmdd09+000grib = forecast?
fcyyyymmdd09+000grib_fp = forecast?
fcyyyymmdd09+000grib_sfx =forecast surface parameters?
fcyyyymmdd09+00Hgrib_fp = forecast?